Photo Essay: Belfast’s Queen’s Quarter

Home sweet hostel for my stay in Belfast was in quiet Queen’s Quarter (and look what I just did there), a 15 minute walk south of the Europa Buscentre, the main transportation hub for the city. I found Belfast to be rather tranquil on the whole (though conflicts would break out in Western Belfast only days after my departure); nevertheless, I still appreciated the relative calm of Queen’s Quarter after a day of traveling. For most of the day my empty room suggested that I had snagged a single by default, but I returned from a late dinner to find that I did indeed have a roommate for the night, an amiable American who was making her way out of the country just as I was beginning my adventure. Unfortunately for me, she’d be getting up by 6 am the following morning to get to the airport. Such is the hostel life.

Between my roommate stirring and the sun announcing its presence through the skylight in my bedroom, I found myself wide awake before 7 am, still more than an hour before breakfast. Solution? Spend an hour enjoying the architecture of Queen’s University Belfast and the enchanting Botanical Gardens adjacent to the campus.

This entry was posted in Europe, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photo Essay: Belfast’s Queen’s Quarter

  1. yi-ching lin says:

    beautiful! laughter line roses look a bit like camellia, don’t they?

Leave a Reply

